Benedicta Attoh, Plan Ambassador

Benedicta Attoh, Plan Ambassador

Benedicta Attoh is Plan Ireland’s ‘Because I am a Girl’ Ambassador. Earlier this year she won Vodafone’s World of Difference campaign, where Vodafone will pay her salary to work with Plan Ireland for a year.

Check out this video to hear Benedicta talking about her new role.

Because I am a Girl I ask … why am I treated differently? What is wrong with me? Why can’t I have the same opportunities as my brothers? What is special about my brothers?

Because I am a Girl I believe … I have the key to breaking the cycle of poverty if given a chance to achieve my full potential.

Because I am a Girl I hope … to help my community and one day be in a position to help others achieve their potential.

Because I am a Girl I wonder … what the future holds?

Because I am a Girl I dream … of becoming a successful female politician able to help thousands of people achieve their dreams.

Because I am a Girl I remember … being told I could not go school.

Because I am a Girl I like … to be treated with respected and not like a commodity who can be sent off to marry an old man because my family is poor and money is needed.

Because I am a Girl I dislike …being attacked, beaten, coerced, forced, raped, mutilated, told what to do, not listened to, not taken seriously, not being valued.

Because I am a Girl I feel … there are so many battles to fight and I have no chance in life.

Because I am a Girl I … believe I can fly, just give me a chance!

– Benedicta Attoh

This entry was posted in Charity, Womens Rights and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Benedicta Attoh, Plan Ambassador

  1. Jane says:

    Written with the wisdom of experience Benedicta and I’m glad you are with us to tell your story.

  2. Pingback: Because I am a Girl | Deshocks's Blog

  3. Imam Saladin says:

    Selaams Bene ur brother and friend is here friend me …thanks sister love peace and power …Imam

Leave a Reply

