Chára Nagle, artist

Chára Nagle, artist

Chára Nagle, a classically trained, NCAD educated artist, has been acclaimed as one of Ireland’s greatest new talents. Her style is Modern Romantic, bold and dramatic.

There is consistently an element of intrigue and humour in Chara’s work, which is housed in many private collections around the world.  She is currently finishing her next solo project and here she ponders on the strength of man, sailing and being an artist …

Because I am a Girl I ask … men for physical help when I need it as I accept that they are stronger than us in the physical sense but in the mental sense we are more then their equal.  One could argue we supersede in fact.  Therefore the two strengths combined can work in harmony to create something greater.  I wish I had accepted this when studying in the sculpture dept at the National College of Art & Design.  To this day I have trouble with my lower back from lifting large blocks of stone about.

Because I am a Girl I believe … that men cannot do without women.  They are here because of us. Right?

Because I am a Girl I hope … that the tide will turn and that women in less fortunate countries will be treated with less hatred, fear and discrimination.  I know that the power of technology through social networks sites will help drive that wave.

Because I am a Girl I wonder … who decided that women were the weaker sex and why?

Because I am a Girl I dream … of a world where all men and women are treated with equal respect.  It would mean a lot less tension, frustration, energy and time wasted.

Because I am a Girl I remember … it was really hard trying to keep up with the boys when learning how to sail as a young child and even harder when competing in races as so much of it was based on physical strength.   I decided to do something about it by joining a gym and working on my core strength.  It paid off.  I became the best crew member in my class of boats.  Mind over matter.  I stopped thinking of myself as a girl but as a person instead who could achieve anything they liked once they put their mind to it.

Because I am a Girl I like … when a man opens the car door for you. You are both reminded of how precious woman is and how she needs to ne nurtured and respected as she is the source of all humankind.

Because I am a Girl I dislike … men that disregard women for no justified reason.  Deep down I know the truth is they fear our deep sense of knowledge and understanding of what life is really all about.  If they allow us to get too close they fear we will take over.

Because I am a Girl I … feel that we have a lot more power and capabilities then we sometimes realise within us.  The autobiography Power of One by Bryce Courtney reminds one of this.  It is very much worth a read.   If you believe, you will achieve.

Because I am a Girl I … don’t see myself as a female artist, I see myself as an artist with a powerful message to paint.  It is my female intuition however that knows what those messages are to be.  My last 2 solo shows were sell outs.  Need I say more?

– Chára Nagle

This entry was posted in Art, Womens Rights and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chára Nagle, artist

  1. Greg Canty says:

    Well done Chara – when is your next show?

    Greg

  2. Ferella says:

    I love the Power of One book! Good positive vibes Chara, thanks for that.

    P.S. I love your art too.

Leave a Reply

