Senator Ivana Bacik

Senator Ivana Bacik

Senator Ivana Bacik is the Reid Professor of Criminal Law, Criminology and Penology at Trinity College Dublin (previously held by Mary Robinson and President Mary McAleese).

She is a Senior Lecturer and also a Fellow of Trinity College (elected in 2005), and a practising barrister.  Ivana was elected to the Seanad in 2007 and is a much needed radical new left-wing and feminist voice there.

Because I am a Girl I ask … that women and girls would no longer encounter obstacles to their chances of happiness in life based on their gender; that they would no longer be subjected to gender-based violence; to female genital mutilation; or to unjust and discriminatory practices that affect them only because they are women or girls.

Because I am a Girl I believe … that discrimination against women and girls should end; that all of us as human beings have the right to be treated equally; and that equality is a human right.

Because I am a Girl I hope … to see a changed world in my lifetime so that our daughters will have the same chances and opportunities as the boys of their age; and so that they will know that their sisters in the developing world will no longer have to face gender discrimination either.

Because I am a Girl I wonder … whether we will ever achieve an equal world, or whether we will even just improve our figures on women’s political representation in Ireland – we are still at an appallingly low rate of only 13% of TDs who are women.

Because I am a Girl I dream … of achieving an equal world, a world in which individuals are valued for their own unique characteristics.

Because I am a Girl I remember … being taught by my mother that I had the same opportunities and chances as my brothers.

Because I am a Girl I like … to read of the great achievements made by this generation of women, and by younger women who are striving for greater equality.

Because I am a Girl I dislike … those who argue that change will happen naturally. We know that change for greater equality will not come about unless we fight for it.

Because I am a Girl I feel … proud when I think how much my mother’s generation has achieved for greater equality for women.

Because I am a Girl I … Hope and believe that my generation will achieve even greater progress towards equality for women.

– Ivana Bacik

This entry was posted in Politics, Womens Rights and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

