Mairead McGuinness MEP

Mairead McGuinness MEP

Mairead McGuinness is Fine Gael MEP for Ireland East.  Elected as an MEP in June 2004 Mairead topped the poll with one in every four votes cast in the Ireland East constituency. She was re-elected in June 2009 with another poll-topping result and was the only candidate in Ireland to be elected on the first count.

Prior to becoming an MEP she was a well-known journalist and broadcaster presenting the successful, Ear to the Ground series on RTÉ television. Among her heavy workload she also raises attention for the plight of children, especially those with a disability in orphanages in Romania and Bulgaria – two of the newer accession states of the EU.

Because I am a Girl I ask … younger women in Ireland to give politics a shot and help shape our future with a more gender balanced political structure.

Because I am a Girl I believe … in the innate goodness of people, but believe that we need to nurture that through encouragement of each other. I believe women and men are equal but different.

Because I am a Girl I hope … that my children will live happy and fulfilled lives and come to appreciate that happiness is to be found in the small things which money cannot buy.

Because I am a Girl I wonder … how different our world would be if half of world leaders were female and if men and women could better balance family and work commitments.

Because I am a Girl I dream … of a world where everyone uses their talents to the full, a world where everyone has access to clean water, healthy food and a good education…the dream can be a reality.

Because I am a Girl I remember … when new technology including email and internet opened up great possibilities for more flexible working and gave us access to information at our finger tips!

Because I am a Girl I like … the sense of satisfaction in a job well done, whatever the task. And I really like the feeling of learning about new things all the time.

Because I am a Girl I dislike … when in conversation people do not let others finish their sentences – we have to listen to learn, but first we must learn to listen.

Because I am a Girl I feel … a great sense of sadness at the many abuses of human rights, when with more open minds and hearts such abuses could and should end.

Because I am a Girl I … know that no one is indispensible but everyone has a place and a role to play.

– Mairead McGuinness

This entry was posted in Charity, Politics, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mairead McGuinness MEP

  1. Sorcha says:

    I agree we need more women in politics Mairead. You are a great example to all future girls who want to take it up, well done!

Leave a Reply

