Emma Buckley, presenter

Emma Buckley, TV presenter

Emma Buckley is a well known personality who divides her time between Ireland and America. She started her career here as co-host of the national morning show, “Ireland AM” on TV3 and then went on to become a news anchor. Since moving to the US in 2006 Emma has primarily been working with the award winning PBS TV parenting show, Real Moms, Real Stories, Real Savvy and has just finished hosting the fifth season.

Along with her work on PBS, Emma has appeared on CBS’s The Early Show as nutritionist and correspondent and was the anchor for HBO’s “The Perspective”.  When in Ireland she’s a regular panellist on TV3’s Midday show and her latest project will see her involved with the launch of the new DietDeli weight loss brand.

Because I am a Girl I ask …That all girls know that they are precious and special, no matter what age, colour, shape, size. I ask that when you feel like you’re being suppressed, that you find the strength within to fight with dignity and resilience. YOU are beautiful. YOU are strong and YOU are loved.

Because I am a Girl I believe …That we have so many advantages over men, we think more cleverly, we can create life! We cope better, we learn better, why don’t we achieve more? Is it because we’re too nice? If so, then I’d rather be nice than successful.

Because I am a Girl I hope …That my son grows up to respect women and love them as much as he loves me!

Because I am a Girl I wonder … If things will change for girls and women everywhere.  Our sisters and mothers fought hard for equality but it seems to be eluding so many.

Because I am a Girl I dream … That girls don’t feel they have to be with a man or get married for security. I dream that girls will be able to create their own security and therefore have FREEDOM.

Because I am a Girl I remember … Always being treated differently than my brothers. Meanwhile, I fought and struggled to be able to run as fast as them, climb as high as them and be as strong as them without realizing that I was all of those things, just in a different way.

Because I am a Girl I like … Make up!

Because I am a Girl I dislike … The way girls bitch about one another.  We need to stop this; have it not be a ‘female trait’ and find solidarity, compassion and friendship.

Because I am a Girl I feel …Incredibly blessed that I am a Mother, a daughter and a sister.

Because I am a Girl I … admire the women who have gone before me, my friends, their mothers and all women out there who make a difference to those less fortunate.  It is this ‘maternal’ instinct in all women that effects change for girls in developing countries, ensuring they have medicine, education and HOPE.

– Emma Buckley

This entry was posted in FAshion, Irish Media, Media, TV, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emma Buckley, presenter

  1. Nicegirl says:

    I love the way you say YOU are beautiful. YOU are strong and YOU are loved. Emma … it might be me but I think that’s a real American positive way of thinking and I wish we were more like that here in Ireland.

Leave a Reply

