Jannie Oeberg, Plan Intern

Jannie Oeberg, Media Intern at Plan Ireland

Jannie Oeberg is a 26-year old Dane studying journalism at the Danish School of Media and Journalism.  As a part of her education she moved to Dublin two months ago and is now a Media Intern with Plan Ireland.

Before she moved abroad she worked as a Journalist on the biggest weekly magazine in Denmark, Familie Journal, where she wrote really personal stories of people who have overcome diseases or have found happiness in an unusual way.

For several years Jannie has volunteered in an organisation for disabled people, because she really loves to help whereever she can, and now she is also raising her voice in support of girls.

Because I am a Girl I ask… why girls are the worst in treating other girls bad, when we are suppose to stick together. I have unfortunately been a bitch to other girls as well during my school time, and I can’t change that but I really regret it and hope to be a better role model for other young girls.

Because I am a Girl I believe… in equality among people. No one is better than others just because of their gender. Nor because of religion, sexuality, race or colour.

Because I am a girl I hope… to have kids of my own one day, and I hope that I will be a loving mother who will raise them to be loving human beings who care for others and appreciate the life they have, as I appreciate my life. I hope they will understand how lucky they are to be born in this part of the world, so they might want to make a difference in other parts.

Because I am a Girl I wonder… why it is still so difficult for many men to see women as equals. Why is it still most women who take care of cleaning, laundry and children even though they work full time as well?

Because I am a Girl I dream… of a world in peace and harmony. I know it’s naive, but wouldn’t it be great if the grass was green everywhere and not just where you are standing?

Because I am a Girl I remember… being jealous at boys because they are so much better than girls sticking together and fighting for their rights. Even though we want to be independent, we still need to watch and learn from each other.

Because I am a Girl I like… to be hold, cared for and loved by a boy I have chosen myself, and I think that every girl should be so lucky and not being forced to marry someone they barely know.

Because I am a Girl I dislike… that I have to be afraid walking the streets at night just because I am a girl.

Because I am a Girl I feel… I need to raise my voice for other girls who can’t. We are just as important, intelligent and useful in our communities as boys, no matter if it’s in Ireland, Denmark or Africa.

Because I am a Girl, I… think Plan’s ‘Because I am a Girl’ campaign is very important. We need to fight for women’s rights in the world if we want to break the cycle of poverty and we need to fight for women’s rights because we as women need to stick together.

– Jannie Oeberg

This entry was posted in Charity, Irish Media, Media, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

