Kat Fleming, Singer

 

Kat Fleming, Singer

Kat Fleming is lead singer with pop/electro project “Nyla Jay”. Hailing originally from Co. Wexford, she was for many years a member of a local award winning musical society. At the tender age of 16, Kat released her first E.P. in her native Wexford which went on to receive nationwide  airplay. Later to become the lead singer with a pop/rock band she performed and toured across Ireland and the U.K. which led to one of her recordings  becoming the theme tune for the advertising of the Oxegen Music Festival on MTV. At the beginning of the Summer of 2010, Kat, seeking to take a new musical direction began collaborating with Spanish producer J. Catala creating new project Nyla Jay.

Because I am a Girl I believe… that we all have something unique to offer in terms of creativity and expression that should never be concealed or held back and ought to be shared with the world.

Because I am a Girl I hope… that women are able to be free to determine the way in which they wish to live their own lives; that they can carve out the future that best suits them as an individual and not have to feel conditioned by other people’s judgements or society’s expectations of them.

Because I am a Girl I wonder… why so many of us put other people’s necessities and feelings above our own and are willing so often to play down our own needs and convictions for the sake of others in fear of what other people might say or think of us.

Because I am a Girl I dream… we can become more assertive, confident and self-sufficient, without having to resort to being malicious and spiteful towards other females. That we can support each other without feeling the constant need to compete with one other, and that we can feel secure enough in ourselves without having to put one another down in order to feel more significant about ourselves and our own lives.

Because I am a Girl I remember… the many millions of women around the globe whom still have to live in countries where they have very little control or say over their own destinies, lives or even over their own bodies. I remember that there are still women that live in societies where they are not respected or not viewed as being equal to, or as worthy as men and in the many regions of the world where regrettably attitudes towards females don’t seem to have changed much in centuries.

Because I am a Girl I like… that women are becoming more expressive through the mediums of art, literature and music. In the last few years there has been an explosion of strong females authors, artists and singers emerging that don’t feel the need to hold back on anything or be repressed.

Because I am a Girl I dislike… that we are all too often judged on our appearances; how we look, what we’re wearing, our hair styles, what size clothes we take, rather than on the skills we have or what we are able to contribute.

Because I am a Girl I feel… through the medium of my music, as a singer/performer, I can make a positive impact on other women. I feel that my music and lyrics can help send positive messages and vibes of female self-esteem and value.

Because I am a Girl I… am proud of our strength and determination in how far we’ve come and the progress we’ve achieved and are still continuing to achieve by standing up for women’s issues and in proving that women are equally as capable and talented as men. However I still feel we have quite some way to go yet so we still need to continue supporting each other and working hard together so that things can improve all over the world and for future generation of women.

– Kat Fleming

This entry was posted in Art, Charity, Irish Media, Media, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

