Laura McGonigle, Councillor of Cork

Laura McGonigle, Councillor

Laura McGonigle is a Cork City Councillor, a Former Deputy Lord Mayor of her native City and a member of the Fine Gael Party. One of the youngest councillors ever to sit on Cork City Council, she has recently declared her intention to seek a Dáil nomination.

Earlier this year she won Best Blog of a Politician at the Irish Blog Awards. Laura was also one of the first politicians to make her expenses transparent on her website.

Because I am a Girl I ask… the difficult questions. To ensure that in life we are all being treated equally and receiving what we are entitled to. As a politician I try my very best to represent the more marginalised in our society

Because I am a Girl I believe… that everyone is entitled to a decent quality of life. In my life I know that I have a bed to sleep in, a roof over my head and food to put in my stomach. But more than 900 million girls and women are living on less than a euro a day, could you do that?

Because I am a Girl I hope… that this Plan campaign will raise awareness across the world to promote girls’ rights and break the cycle of poverty.

Because I am a Girl I wonder… if equality between the sexes will ever be really achieved. If Leinster House will ever achieve 50% female TDs, without the need for quotas to be introduced.

Because I am a Girl I dream… in furthering my political career as I endeavour to provide a better Ireland and a brighter future for all.

Because I am a Girl I remember… my first day of school, while my dad sat with me until “Sós beag” to make sure I was happy. However sixty-two million girls are not in primary school and are not getting the opportunities I was afforded. (ps. Thanks Dad!)

Because I am a Girl I like… the simple things in life. A night in on the couch! A walk along the Marina in Blackrock , spending time with friends. And I am so lucky to have the opportunity to do the ordinary and live my life at my own pace. Throughout the world, over 100 million girls under 18, some as young as 12, are expected to marry over the next decade.

Because I am a Girl I dislike… disingenuity – that’s it. Probably the single worst quality in a person.

Because I am a Girl I feel… lucky.  About 450 million women suffer from stunted growth as a result of being poorly fed in childhood.

Because I am a Girl I… cherish my very ordinary and down to earth upbringing. Yet realise that not every girl had such a childhood I’m thankful for my very loving parents, who have supported me through everything, whether it was grazed knees or election triumphs!

– Laura McGonigle

This entry was posted in Charity, Irish Media, Media, Politics, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

