Colette Fitzpatrick, TV Presenter

Collette Fitzpatrick, TV Presenter

Colette Fitzpatrick is one of Ireland’s most experienced live television presenters. She has been working in the TV3 newsroom since March 2001 and currently hosts the Midday show, presents daily news bulletins at 5:30 and anchors the prime time current affairs show Midweek every Wednesday evening.

Originally from Holycross, Thurles, Co Tipperary, Colette previously worked in the newsrooms of Today FM and East Coast FM in County Wicklow where she first began her broadcasting career.

Colette graduated in Journalism from DIT in Aungier Street.

Because I am a Girl I ask … myself if I am a good role model for younger girls.

Because I am a Girl I believe … in the dynamism, the intelligence and sheer graft of women to succeed in a man’s world.

Because I am a Girl I hope… equal pay becomes a reality in my lifetime.

Because I am a Girl I wonder… will fully paid maternity leave become a reality in my lifetime?

Because I am a Girl I dream… of the day a female Taoiseach won’t be big news.

Because I am a Girl I remember… how much more opportunities I have than my mother did.

Because I am a Girl I like… clothes and pink champagne as well as sport and politics.

Because I am a Girl I dislike… girls that are boy’s girls, instead of girl’s girls.

Because I am a Girl I feel… grateful to have a network of girls that I can rely on for support, advice and fun.

Because I am a Girl… in the media, I promise to work to put women’s issues and rights on the news agenda.

– Colette Fitzpatrick

This entry was posted in Charity, Irish Media, Media, Politics, TV, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

