Dolores Keaveney, Children’s Writer and Plan Sponsor

Dolores Keaveney, Plan Sponsor

Dolores Keaveney lives in Mullingar with her husbond John and has been an amateur watercolour artist for almost 30 years, painting mostly flowers.

She has three children and four grandchildren and enjoys many interests; painting, gardening- and book club and walking. She has a keen interest in the spiritual side of life and is a qualified therapist and Reiki Master.

Two years ago she decided to write simple stories for children and incorporated her paintings in these books. Her grandchildren were her inspiration.

Dolores is a sponsor with Plan and has sponsored the same family of girls for the past twenty-one years.

Because I am a Girl I ask…. that we should be more compassionate to the needs of the less well off and maybe sponsor a girl in the developing world.

Because I am a Girl I believe…. that I can do anything I put my mind to.

Because I am a Girl I hope… that the future brings great change for the better, an end to wars, poverty, discrimination, exploitation… and an end to inequality for all girls and women.

Because I am a Girl I dream… that my wonderful children and grandchildren will have long, happy and healthy lives and that they will always remember to help the girls and boys, women and men that are less fortunate than they are.

Because I am a Girl I remember… my mother, and thank her for her gift of life to me.

Because I am a Girl I wonder… what it would be like if we had equality, peace, harmony and love throughout our planet!

Because I am a Girl I like… having such good sisters and girlfriends with whom I can share my life and I am grateful to know that they are always there for me.

Because I am a Girl I dislike… war, inequality, injustice…

Because I am a Girl I feel… privileged to be in a position to help support Plan in the developing world. It is never too late to begin.

Because I am a Girl I… can and do make a difference. I am fortunate to be in a position to sponsor a child in Africa with Plan and it gives me great joy to receive a letter on a regular basis from my sponsored child and to know that I am helping in a very small way to make the life of this lovely child a little better for her.  To know that she is being educated, thanks to Plan, to know that she does not have to walk for miles to get a cup of clean water, thanks to Plan. To know that she has a proper toilet, thanks to Plan and lots more.

– Dolores Keaveney

This entry was posted in Art, Charity, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dolores Keaveney, Children’s Writer and Plan Sponsor

  1. Maria Bourke says:

    I like your balanced perspective on this Dolores. I know women have been getting a hard time in many places for many years but we must be careful not to paint all men as bad and more importantly not to become to men what some /many of them have been to us. That approach will heal nothing. We must talk and be the change we desire – EQUALITY! Well done!

  2. Martin Wade. says:

    Hi Dolores,
    My name is Martin Wade. It is possible that you are my first cousin, if you were reared in Tullamore, and your mother was Teresa Higgins,
    Best Regards- Martin Wade.

Leave a Reply

