Debbie Hargaden, Singer

Debbie Hargaden, Singer

Debbie Hargaden is a member of Legato Singers, a 6-part female vocal harmony group. She has been singing and performing regularly since she re-discovered her vocal skills in 2004 and can be found singing, clapping and whooping at any event that requires music and energy! The members of Legato have sung together for a number of years and have all had experience singing at over 500 weddings and corporate events since 2005. They have sung live on The Late Late Show, BBC’s NI Children In Need, the Special Olympics Ireland Opening Ceremony in the Odyssey Arena, on TV3, NewsTalk106, etc.

Because I am a Girl I ask … that every girl born in the developing world experiences the same education, healthy living, hopes, dreams and opportunities that those of us privileged to be born into the developed world can access.

Because I am a Girl I believe… that without a strong sister support system, many girls would suffer in silence.

Because I am a Girl I hope… that those reading this and participating in the campaign are educated about the good work Plan Ireland can do and spread the word through their own strong female network.

Because I am a Girl I wonder… how it is that in 2010 we are still fighting for rights for the female gende… and if girls born in disadvantaged areas will ever be free to be ‘just a girl’?

Because I am a Girl I dream… of aspirational things that have very little meaning in my everyday life… but I take joy in dreaming because I can do so without prejudice or barriers and because I’m one of the lucky ones who CAN dream, knowing that sometimes, dreams do come true.

Because I am a Girl I remember… my childhood with fondness: Long (hot?) summers in Brittis Bay, cold short winters in Dublin and lots of fun and laughter along the way. I can’t imagine what it would be like to grow up without having the basics, let alone the luxuries I was lucky enough to have.

Because I am a Girl I like… to think that all women treat each other equally and with respect. Sometimes this doesn’t happen and women are the instigators of hurt against each other. This MUST change.

Because I am a Girl I dislike… hearing that 100 million girls have gone missing in poor countries because their parents wanted a boy. Children should be considered a blessing, not a burden.

Because I am a Girl I feel… blessed that I am surrounded by the most amazing girls; friends, family, work colleagues, heroines. All whom give me inspiration on a daily basis.

Because I am a Girl I… am grateful that in my country, it’s okay to be a girl…

– Debbie Hargaden

This entry was posted in Art, Charity, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Debbie Hargaden, Singer

  1. hobbygun says:

    I really like the blog. Thanks for the good read.

Leave a Reply

