Hayley Colloty, Journalism Student

Hayley Colloty, Journalism Student

Hayley Colloty grew up in South Africa, arriving in Ireland in 2001. She is a devoted mother to her seven year old son. Having written an award winning short story, she is currently a Journalism student at Colaiste Dhulagh in Dublin.

Because I am a Girl I ask… that all our children are taught how to have self-respect, respect for others, determination and independence.

Because I am a Girl I believe… that dreams are achievable.  And, that if chocolate makes me so happy, it can’t possibly be bad for me…

Because I am a Girl I hope… that the world we live in will one day be a world we love to live in.

Because I am a Girl I wonder… how many tears must be shed before illness’ are cured, before all children are safe and before people can live together in harmony.

Because I am a Girl I dream… of happily ever after.

Because I am a Girl I remember… the women in my life who have helped to make me, me!

Because I am a Girl I like… a bit of luxury in life…and loads of scented bath treats.

Because I am a Girl I dislike… all the hurtful people and sad situations in the world.

Because I am a Girl I feel… grateful for the special little moments that make me smile and laugh.

Because I am a Girl I… am proud of who I am!

– Hayley Colloty

This entry was posted in Charity, Irish Media, Media, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hayley Colloty, Journalism Student

  1. stephen Hynes says:

    Great cause, and a great blog, Hayley has written some lovely pieces, hopefully a great future…Good luck all…

Leave a Reply

