Dil Wickremasinghe, Social Entrepreneur and Media Activist

Dil Wickremasinghe, Social Entrepreneur and Media Activist

Dil Wickremasinghe is a Social Entrepreneur and Media Activist whose vision is to create an inclusive and equal Ireland.

She is Managing Director of Diversity & Equality Works – established in 2006 and specializes in delivering diversity, disability and equality training and consultancy services to the private, public and voluntary sector.

Dil is also a part of Inclusive Minds, which is a non-profit organisation with the aim to provide accessible, culturally sensitive and inclusive mental health support services for all communities in Ireland.

Since June 2008 Dil has been presenting Ireland’s only equality focused and socially conscious weekly radio programme on mainstream Irish radio “Global Village”, which airs live every Saturday from 7 to 9pm on Newstalk 106-108 FM. And she is Editor of EQ, The Equality Magazine – Ireland’s first equality magazine that will bring its readers to the core of the equality debate.

Dil was born in Italy and is a Sri Lankan national and moved to Ireland 10 years ago and is now an Irish citizen.

Because I am a Girl I ask… when are we going to realise that equality benefits us all?

Because I am a Girl I believe… a human being can only reach their full potential if we live in an inclusive society.

Because I am a Girl I hope… one day people won’t judge me by the colour of my skin, the clothes I wear, my accent, my sexuality, my gender, my level of education, my address, my job, my friends, my relationship and accept me for just being me.

Because I am a Girl I wonder… if I was a straight boy would my family love me more?

Because I am a Girl I dream… of a day that equality does not have to be enforced by law as it has become a way of thinking.

Because I am a Girl I remember… the sadness I felt when I realised that being a lesbian migrant girl meant I had to work 3 times harder to make my way through this world.

Because I am a Girl I like… other girls!

Because I am a Girl I dislike… how society thinks how a girl should look like, I like to wear make-up, skirts, dresses, suits and ties! When are we going to learn that clothes do not make the man!

Because I am a Girl I feel… I have an open mind and open heart which enables me to relate and connect with most people I meet.

Because I am a Girl I… stand for equality, inclusion, diversity, social justice as I believe that we are all connected and are responsible for every member of our human family.

– Dil Wickremasinghe

This entry was posted in Business, Charity, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

