Marguerite Gallagher, Development Education and Campaign Officer

Marguerite Gallagher, Development Education and Campaign Officer with Plan Ireland

Marguerite Gallagher is Development Education and Campaigns Officer with Plan Ireland. Marguerite is from Dublin and joined Plan Ireland in December 2010.

She recently completed a Masters in Development in Kimmage Development Studies Centre. Marguerite worked with short-term volunteer sending organisations from 2003 until 2010 in a training and logistical capacity. This involved frequent travel to both South Africa and Haiti. In February 2010, she moved to Port au Prince, Haiti with the NGO Haven to work manage logistics for the emergency response team in the wake of the earthquake.

In her spare time, Marguerite enjoys reading, travelling and attempting to train for marathons.

Because I am a Girl I ask … myself questions every day. I think it is important to question your motivations and beliefs on a regular basis. I like to think of it as finetuning my internal moral compass.

Because I am a Girl I… believe that all girls should have the same access to education and opportunity as their male counterparts.

Because I am a Girl I hope… that women and their friends will support and help each other through difficult times in their lives.

Because I am a Girl I wonder… what is important in other women’s lives.

Because I am a Girl I dream… that all of the women in my life will be able to realise their full potential.

Because I am a Girl I remember… the special people in my life telling me I could do anything. I think it is much more difficult to achieve your dreams if you do not have support from your family and friends.

Because I am a Girl I like… to listen to other people. Hearing about someone else’s hopes, dreams and fears can help you learn more about yourself.

Because I am a Girl I dislike… violence or disrespect shown towards any person.

Because I am a Girl I feel… tolerance is one of the most important traits a person can have.

Because I am a Girl I… feel lucky for all of the opportunities and experiences I have had in my life so far. Many people will never have these opportunities because they were born a girl. I hope that some day this will change.

– Marguerite Gallagher

This entry was posted in Charity, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

