Catherine Fulvio, TV Chef

Catherine Fulvio, TV Chef

Catherine Fulvio is a renowned TV Chef, food writer and proprietor of award-winning Ballyknocken House and Cookery School, in Ashford, Co. Wicklow.  No stranger to authentic food, she was brought up on the working Farmhouse, Bed & Breakfast while holding on to the apron strings of her mother.  

She appreciates the labour of love that is farming and the rewards that it brings when the family sits around the table enjoying the garden harvest.  Catherine recently won the RAI Best Chef in Wicklow where she tends her organic farm, gardens and herbs and proudly showcases the best of local in-season to guests both in the Cookery School and the four star bed & breakfast accommodation. 

Catherine runs Ballyknocken Cookery School which has become a centre for learning culinary skills. She has firmly established herself as a familiar face on TV screens both at home and abroad and is best known for her two RTE TV series, ‘Catherine’s Italian Kitchen’ and ‘Catherine’s Roman Holiday’.  She is a respected food writer and author of award winning cookbook, ‘Catherine’s Italian Kitchen’. She is currently working on her second book and researching her third TV series. 

When Catherine is not busy in the Cookery School she is busy researching new recipes, menus and courses.  She is also the mother of two young children.

Because I am a Girl I ask…that all girls have the same fun and freedom as I enjoyed growing up on a farm and not the hardship that is experienced by many young girls on farms around the world.

Because I am a Girl I believe…that girls should support each other in every way possible and believe in themselves in order to make the world a better place.

Because I am a Girl I hope…that equal opportunities come about in the kitchen and all other workplaces sooner rather than later.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…when the important role of fair-trade and our overall approach to food production will change to promote better, fairer conditions for the thousands of girls that contribute to the production of our food from all over the world.  

Because I am a Girl I dream…of fair-trade dark chocolate!

Because I am a Girl I remember…the happy times holding on to the apron strings of my mother – she taught me all I know.  Like so many other girls in the world she was my mother and my friend.

Because I am a Girl I like…to cook fresh seasonal food to be enjoyed and shared with friends and family, spreading the value and emphasising the importance of  using local and seasonal produce wherever possible.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…the amount of hard work young girls are forced to do in food production in the third world.

Because I am a Girl I feel…a woman’s work is never done and that it is undervalued for the most part.

Because I am a Girl I…can help improve the awareness of the key roles that so many young girls play in farming and food production all over the world in an effort to create a better balance and improve the approach to food to that which considers nutrition, nature and ethics over price and convenience.

This entry was posted in Charity, Food, Irish Media, TV, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

