Cathy Davey, Singer

Cathy Davey, Singer

Choice Music Prize nominee, Meteor Ireland Music Award winner and number one selling artist Cathy Davey was born in Dublin and grew up in Monkstown.  She found her way into music almost accidentally. Signed by Parlophone’s Regal, she was spirited away to a studio in Wales where she set to work on her debut album, Something Ilk. Her follow up, Tales of Silversleeve, was released through EMI and found its beginnings in home demos Cathy recorded by herself. The album produced hit singles like Sing for your Supper, and Reuben.

Several full tours of Ireland followed, as well as well-received sets at prestigious international festivals such as SXSW and Eurosonic. Silversleeve went on to win Cathy a Choice Music Prize nomination and the Meteor Award for Best Irish Female. The Irish Times said “There’s no better female songwriter in Irish music right now”. Silversleeve achieved for her a place in the Irish Times Top Ten Albums of the Decade – the only woman and the only Irish artist to feature there. Tales of Silversleeve achieved double-platinum status and accompanying it, Cathy undertook an astonishing run of two and half years of sold-out shows.

In 2008, Cathy retreated to France for a month and found herself recording in a quiet old house belonging to an old widow, coming home with a handful or joyful songs about love, absence and death. The Nameless was released in 2010, debuting in poll position on the Irish Album Charts, the Independent Release Charts and the iTunes Charts on its first week of release. It was also nominated for the Choice Music Prize. Cathy has worked with Autamata, Elbow and The Duckworth Lewis Method as well as providing support for Graham Coxon, REM and Supergrass.

Because I am a Girl I ask…not to be seen as inferior by the opposite sex.

Because I am a Girl I believe…in realising the one thing you love to do and finding a way to do it for a living.

Because I am a Girl I hope…to be recognised for my achievements and not my fashion sense (or lack of).

Because I am a Girl I wonder…why there aren’t more female comediennes.

Because I am a Girl I dream…about driving a monster truck.

Because I am a Girl I remember…that up until recently it was virtually impossible for women to run their own lives, and how it’s getting better every day.

Because I am a Girl I like…to wear unflattering sensible runners as often as I can to battle the “Women and Shoes” stereotype!

Because I am a Girl I dislike…to differentiate between men and women.

Because I am a Girl I feel…grateful to have the same opportunities as my friends.

Because I am a girl I…have no need for girly magazines to tell me how to be a girl.

– Cathy Davey

This entry was posted in Art, Charity, Media, Music, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

