Nathalie Márquez Courtney, KISS Magazine Editor

Nathalie Marquez Courtney, KISS Magazine Editor

Nathalie is editor of KISS Magazine, Ireland’s only magazine for teenage girls. She holds a degree in English and Spanish from University College Dublin. Born in Mexico, she grew up on a traveling circus where her mum was a ringmistress. The sequins and sawdust didn’t stop her from become a total nerd though, and she has more than a passing interest in shiny gadgets. Hobbies include photography, eating chorizo and dancing to 90s R&B.

Because I am a Girl I ask…myself what it means, all the time. I don’t want to be equal to a man, because I’m different. I know I deserve the same rights and the same pay for doing the same work, but I enjoy the many things that are so unique and amazing about being a woman.

Because I am a Girl I believe…that more young women are embracing their originality and not feeling the need to conform to stereotypes. This rocks. 

Because I am a Girl I hope…that the work my team does helps spread a positive, authentic message to teen girls. 

Because I am a Girl I wonder…what my life would be like without the support and love of my female friends. 

Because I am a Girl I dream…of a room with a bookcase on every wall. 

Because I am a Girl I remember…being raised by strong, sensitive, incredibly hard-working women. My success is not my own, but rather a result of their work, influence and advice. 

Because I am a Girl I like…taking photos of my friends and family. It’s my way of not taking their presence for granted. 

Because I am a Girl I dislike…being made feel as if I shouldn’t show emotion. 

Because I am a Girl I feel…unbelievably grateful to have been given more, different and better opportunities than my mother was given. 

Because I am a Girl I…am inspired by the ever-increasing number of women reaching the top; be it in politics, entertainment, business, science, academia or technology.

– Nathalie Marquez Courtney 

This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Charity, FAshion, Irish Media, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nathalie Márquez Courtney, KISS Magazine Editor

  1. What a fantastic girl , to see how far she has come is fantastic , hats off to you Nathalie ,

  2. Brónagh says:

    So incredible, I want to do what she does when I’m older and it’s so cool seeing a girl with so many interests and layers being to successful!

Leave a Reply

