Maura Murphy, DJ

Maura Murphy, DJ

Hailing from Chicago USA, Maura Murphy is a self confessed music junkie, living and breathing the sounds of the streets, venues and clubs. She got her first big break when she landed a much coveted slot on her local station WLUW Independent Radio. Not happy to sit on her laurels, she took up residencies in several of Chicago’s indie clubs and joined the Toast & Jam Incorporated stable of DJ’s.

Itching to see, hear, feel and experience more Maura found her way to Dublin drawn by her family history. She quickly established herself working with Odessa, Bodytonic Music, The Village and Whelan’s to name but a few. Never short of talent and surprises Maura has even found her way on to the screen, presenting fan interviews filmed at The O2 and streamed on o2blueroom.ie.

Because I am a Girl I ask…limitless questions and never accept the simplest answer.

Because I am a Girl I believe…in the power of conviction.

Because I am a Girl I hope…for complete gender equality across the world and for all women to the rights and care they deserver. 

Because I am a Girl I wonder…about the journey woman have been on through history and wonder how far we have to go. 

Because I am a Girl I dream…of always making the most of what I have and remaining playful forever. 

Because I am a Girl I remember…the struggle of growing up and learning about myself and the world. 

Because I am a Girl I like…Debbie Harry and Ann and Nancy Wilson – some of the greatest lady rockers I’ve ever come across

Because I am a Girl I dislike…lazy stereotypes and easy assumptions.

Because I am a Girl I feel…determined to always stand up for myself. 

Because I am a Girl I…don’t take anything for granted and try to be strong as well as humble.

– Maura Murphy

This entry was posted in Charity, Media, Music, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

