Aoife Nic Canna, DJ and Broadcaster

Crowned the First Lady of Irish house by Hot Press, Aoife Nic Canna has been a central force in Irish dance music since it’s initial development. She was resident at U2’s The Kitchen, The Rock Garden, No. 4 Dame Lane and Ri-Ra and is still spinning in the most popular club nights in Ireland, with regular slots at music festivals in Ireland and abroad. Aoife is a staffer at North Dublin’s NEAR 90 FM, presenting and producing Club Cheol – a dance show focusing on home-grown electronic music. She has also produced and presented a range of arts programme and Irish language programmes for the station. 

Aoife’s favorite thing (when she is not DJing) is to cycle and spend a lot of time outdoors which made her get involved as a producer and presenter of the award winning Dynamo Effect,a series on sustainable energy broadcast on stations all over Ireland and Europe. Love for Irish music lead Aoife to begin a new project, a sound and vision documentary about the history of Irish dance music due to debut by the end of this year. 

Because I am a Girl I ask…carefully for what I need.

Because I am a Girl I believe…in equality, although we are different we can work harmoniously together.

Because I am a Girl I hope…all girls today are encouraged like I was, with wonderful women around me especially Mother who puts up with nothing.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…far too much.

Because I am a Girl I dream…that someday I can buy my house from my landlord.

Because I am a Girl I remember…having difficulty at school, I now know its a gift called dyslexia.

Because I am a Girl I like…my family, friends, playing records, interviewing people, making radio programs, my cats, being kind to our environment and animals, vegetarian food, trying to cycle faster than any car, wearing high heels and being taller than anyone in a room.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…waste, over consumption, bad sound systems, low quality MP3s, licensing laws in Ireland.

Because I am a Girl I feel…loved and very spoilt.

Because I am a Girl I…am very grateful for the women before me who fought for women like me to have choice. 

– Aoife Nic Canna

This entry was posted in Charity, Music, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

