Mary Mitchell O’Connor TD

Mary Mitchell O'Connor

Mary Mitchell O’Connor TD was elected to Dáil Éireann on her first attempt in the 2011 General Election. She had previously served on Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council after being elected on her first attempt in June 2004 and re-elected in June 2009.

Mary is a qualified teacher and before her election was Principal of the Harold School Glasthule, a busy 500 pupil mixed Catholic school. During her time there, Mary successfully managed the amalgamation of St. Joseph’s Boys School and Harold Convent Girls’ School. Mary will prioritise Education issues during her time in the Dáil.

Mary is extremely supportive of local business and enterprise. She has consistently fought against increases in commercial rates in the Council in order to help keep the cost of doing business down.

Because I am a Girl I ask…for equality of opportunity for all, regardless of gender, race, religion or sexual orientation.

Because I am a Girl I believe…that the world would be a better place if there were more women in positions of power and influence, be it in business or government around the world.

Because I am a Girl I hope…that young girls can see positive female role models in the worlds of business and politics, and are inspired by them.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…how we can better educate young girls to have confidence, to believe in themselves and to place themselves in positions of power where they can make a difference.

Because I am a Girl I dream…of a day when 50% of the representatives in Dáil Éireann are women.

Because I am a Girl I remember…the female role models who inspired me when I was young, such as my mother.

Because I am a Girl I like…spending time in the company of other women and girls.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…the fact that we still to this day live in a male dominated culture and that only 15% of the current Dáil is made up of women.

Because I am a Girl I feel…strongly that Ireland needs to be more proactive in bringing more women into politics.

Because I am a Girl I support…the proposal of the new Government to encourage more women into politics by halving State funding for political parties who fail to have at least 30% women candidates at the next General Election.

– Mary Mitchell O’Connor

This entry was posted in Charity, Irish Media, Politics, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

