Marie Moran, UCD School of Social Justice

Dr Marie Moran

Marie Moran is a post-doctoral scholar at the UCD School of Social Justice. She has taught on the Equality Studies programme in UCD since 2005, delivering undergraduate modules on ‘Global Justice’ and ‘Social Justice Movements’, as well as teaching on the Equality Studies Masters Programme. She wrote her doctoral thesis on the idea of identity in contemporary capitalism, and is currently writing a book on the same topic.

She is also a regular contributor to the Tonight with Vincent Browne show on TV3. Marie is very interested in the workings of capitalism, and the way in which social inequality is justified and naturalized in contemporary societies. A self-professed feminist since the age of 12, she is committed to writing, thinking and teaching about equality, as well as engaging in various forms of political activism for social justice.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…why we are told that female empowerment is about shopping, dieting, consuming, owning, ‘pampering’ and being attractive to men, instead of equal rights, respect, resources and political participation.

Because I am a Girl I dream…of a day when feminism is not a dirty word, nor a term of abuse, but a word for which we no longer have any use because we have already achieved political, social and economic equality between men and women.

Because I am a Girl I remember…learning, as a child, not to take up too much space, to cross my legs in a particular way, not to shout over others, to keep the peace, to apply make-up, to cook on a toy kitchen and to mind a plastic doll. I remember being reprimanded for not being lady-like. I remember learning how to be a ‘girl’.

Because I am a Girl I like…the fact that my father refused to teach my brother how to drive before me – just because he was a boy – and refused to make me learn how to clean the chicken – just because I was a girl.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…the assumption that only women will support the rights of and interests of girls, and that men will not. Women can support gender inequality as much as men; and men can be feminists too.

Because I am a Girl I feel…frustrated that women are asked to choose between ‘family’ and ‘career’, while it is simply taken for granted that men can have both.

Because I am a Girl I…rebel against the fact that half of the world’s population are poorer, less powerful, and more likely to experience violence and discrimination than the other half…just because they are girls. And because I am a girl too, I will join the struggles to change this, and improve the lives of women across the world.

– Marie Moran

This entry was posted in Charity, Irish Media, Politics, TV, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marie Moran, UCD School of Social Justice

  1. bobbygw says:

    Hi Marie Moran – I love your site and its purpose; and your “Because I am a Girl” questions are terrific positive triggers, I’m sure, to help raise a child’s self-awareness and gain the confidence articulate and unravel complex feelings she has (I trained and then volunteered as a counsellor for ChildLine in the UK for four years back in the 90s). I was really intrigued by your doctoral thesis, too – a subject that fascinates me, among many. Is there any way to gain access to it? All best wishes to you for your great work. @bobbygw

Leave a Reply

