Courtney Smith, fashion stylist

Courtney Smith

Courtney Smith (or Coco as her fashion friends call her) is admittedly a fashion junkie! With a collection of ‘Vintage Vogues‘ threatening to take-over her studio and a wardrobe bursting with much-loved stylish treasures – it’s no wonder she followed a career path into fashion!

A graduate of Fashion Design, Courtney was a finalist in the UCD Young Designer Awards in 2007. She then continued on to complete a postgraduate program in Fashion Styling and Media at the prestigious London College of Fashion.

Working with commercial clients such as Hello! Skinny Jeans, BT2, Brown Thomas, Penneys, River Island, adidas and Fran & Jane, Courtney has successfully catered each job to the specific needs of the individual brands – whether it be a campaign shoot, advert, lookbook, television promotion or brand consultation.

Her editorial shoots have been featured in international and home publications such as The Sunday Times STYLE, GQ South Africa, The Fashionisto, U magazine, The Sunday Independent LIFE Magazine, The Irish Independent WEEKEND and Social & Personal amongst others.

Courtney appears as a regular fashion contributor on top TV3 entertainment shows; “Xpose” & “Ireland AM” – where she uses her styling knowledge to give fashion and style tips to the nation, showing the top trends, how to dress different body types, new season collections, and more! You can see a selection of these features on her youtube channel. www.youtube.com/courtneystyle

Courtney is currently working on Autumn/Winter 2011 collection campaigns for a variety of brands and is planning some foreign locations for exciting new shoots. Check out her website here Courtney has also designed a t-shirt for the Because I am a Girl campaign (pictured above) – find out more about how to get your hands on this unique designer t-shirt here

Because I am a girl I ask…girls around the globe to respect and support each other; Its us against the world – not each other!

Because I am a girl I believe…fairytales do come true, only in the real world it’s you on that white horse – don’t expect to be saved by a shining Prince – make it happen for yourself!

Because I am a girl I hope…that when I have my own little girl there are as many inspiring women around to challenge and help her grow, just like I had.

Because I am a girl I wonder…if life would be easier as a boy?

Because I am a girl I dream…big! One day I will be the creative director of an amazing fashion label and magazine.

Because I am a girl I remember…dressing up in my Aunties evening slips and caking myself in makeup to look like old Hollywood stars.

Because I am a girl I like…to be independent.

Because I am a girl I dislike…not being taken seriously because i’m the one with the pink lippy and the eyeliner flick.

Because I am a girl I feel…driven to achieve my best on my own!

Because I am a girl I…am unstoppable!

– Courtney Smith

This entry was posted in Charity, FAshion, Irish Media, Media, TV, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

