Anne Marie Boyhan, fashion editor & blogger

Anne Marie Boyhan

Anne Marie Boyhan is founder of fashion and lifestyle blog, WhatSheWears.ie, fashion editor of MSN Ireland and in March 2011 won the industry award for Best Blogger at The Most Influential in Irish Fashion Awards.

Since 2009 she has focused on fashion and is a regular contributor to East Coast FM and Independent.ie and divides her time between style writing with her consulting job in online communications and social media.  Prior to WhatSheWears.ie, Anne Marie worked for two of Ireland’s largest websites, Daft.ie and Ireland.com.

Anne Marie speaks five languages, has a huge love for Spain where she lived for 5 years and for rugby which she supports every weekend. A Westmeath native turned city dweller; Anne Marie now lives in Dublin and is married to a New Zealander.

Because I am a Girl I ask…that I’m treated the same and not discriminated against because of my gender.

Because I am a Girl I believe…that life is a journey, not a destination.

Because I am a Girl I hope…for good health and a life of laughter for those closest to me.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…how my mother does it all; raise and educate nine children, coped when her husband, mother and brother all died within a year of each other and took early retirement from her job to run a farm.

Because I am a Girl I dream…of a walk in wardrobe like Carrie had on Sex and the City and that women should not have to conform to stereotypical roles in life.

Because I am a Girl I remember…the warm fuzzy feeling of falling in love and the moments I share with that person every day.

Because I am a Girl I like…dressing up, partying, shopping and spending time with my friends and family.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…how women still earn less than men in the workplace, how bitchy girls can be, Irish begrudgery and how good spatial awareness when driving is sometimes beyond me.

Because I am a Girl I feel…grateful for the kind of education and upbringing I’ve received and the ability to pass on my knowledge and skills to others through my work and family life.

Because I am a Girl I…am inspired by all the fighting females you’ve featured here and that we’ve somehow helped raise awareness in our own communities for gender discrimination in the developing world through the  Because I am a Girl campaign.

– Anne Marie Boyhan

This entry was posted in Beauty, Because I am a Girl, Charity, FAshion, girl's rights, Irish Media, Plan Ireland, Womens Rights and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

