Emer O’Sullivan, Irish Girl Guides Chief Commissioner

Emer O'Sullivan, Irish Girl Guides Chief Commissioner

Since 1974 Emer has been involved with the Irish Girl Guides (IGG). She started out at the age of 10 in her local Guide Unit in Ballina. Since the age of 17 she has volunteered as a Leader with the local Guide Unit.

Since 1999 Emer has been playing a part on IGG’s National Executive Committee, firstly as North West Regional Commissioner, then as Assistant Chief Commissioner and since 2007 Emer stepped forward and was elected as IGG’s Chief Commissioner.   

Because I am a Girl I ask…that all girls are treated equally and with respect.

Because I am a Girl I believe…in girl power and that, by working together we can change our world.

Because I am a Girl I hope…that through education and awareness a difference can be made.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…what life will be like in 100 years time.

Because I am a Girl I dream…I dare & I do.

Because I am a Girl I remember…with deepest gratitude the work and effort the inspirational women who have gone before have made to this world.

Because I am a Girl I like…camping, the outdoors and adventurous activities.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…unfairness.

Because I am a Girl I feel…I can do anything.

Because I am a Girl I celebrate…100 years of the Irish Girl Guides empowering girls and young women in Ireland, 100 years of changing lives.  

– Emer O’Sullivan

This entry was posted in Because I am a Girl, Charity, girl's rights, Plan Ireland, Uncategorized, volunteer, Womens Rights and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

