Megan Davenport, Transition Year student

Megan & Mr Tibbs

Megan comes from Rathfarnham in Dublin and attends Loreto High School Beaufort, Rathfarnham.

Megan is currently in Transition year and spent a week of work experience with Plan Ireland late last year as she has always had a keen interest in the issues of the third world and doesn’t agree with injustice and inequality.

Megan is a complete animal lover and spends all of her time competing with her horse Mr Tibbs. She also enjoys running, swimming and a nice big cup of tea!

Because I am a Girl I ask…why is it that girls are cruelly discriminated against and continually treated second to boys just because of something as simple as their gender? 

Because I am a Girl I believe…that in some way, no matter how small, everyone should do something to help improve the lives of those less fortunate. 

Because I am a Girl I hope…that with the help of wonderful organisations like Plan, the lives of girls everywhere can be changed for the better and that soon they can have access to all that they deserve. 

Because I am a Girl I wonder…why every girl doesn’t get to experience the wonderful opportunities I have and will experience in life?

Because I am a Girl I dream…that soon all people regardless of gender, race, class and appearance are treated as equals and that they have absolutely no impact on the type of person people perceive us to be. 

Because I am a Girl I remember…that even the small things make a difference to someone.   

Because I am a Girl I like…to hear that the difficult circumstances are improving for people. 

Because I am a Girl I dislike…when people say “there is nothing we can do…” there is always something that can be done. Things can change for the better for everyone everywhere if we put our minds to it.                       

Because I am a Girl I feel…grateful for all the excellent opportunities and experiences I have encountered and hope one day every girl has the access to all the great things the world has to offer.         

Because I am a Girl I…know how lucky I am!

– Megan Davenport

This entry was posted in Because I am a Girl, Charity, girl's rights, Plan Ireland, Uncategorized, volunteer, Womens Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

