Orla Walsh, Pop Artist

Orla Walsh

Orla Walsh is a Pop Artist and proud Mum to three girls. She is inspired by family life and the nostalgia of everyday items. Her first set of Ketchup bottles were bought by the Heinz HQ in Pittsburg. Her other images capture the emotional history of irish products. Her depictions of the iconic Irish brands such as Tayto, Guinness and Jacobs pull at our heartstrings and have gained her an international following.

Because I am a Girl I ask…my daughters take care of each other

Because I am a Girl I believe…in love and marriage

Because I am a Girl I hope…for a long happy life with my husband and three girls

Because I am a Girl I wonder…if the scales in my bathroom are broken

Because I am a Girl I dream…very weird dreams, last night Terry Wogan was driving a Winnebago and my parents were travelling with him and they had parked outside my house!

Because I am a Girl I remember…my first trip to town with my Mother to buy an outfit for Christmas

Because I am a Girl I like…drawing for hours on end, time disappears and I am so content

Because I am a Girl I dislike…women who don’t vote

Because I am a Girl I feel…emotional around new born babies and cry when a bride walks up the aisle even if I don’t know them well

Because I am a Girl I celebrate…my birthday every year for a week.

– Orla Walsh 

This entry was posted in Art, Because I am a Girl, Business, Charity, Food, girl's rights, Irish Media, Media, Plan Ireland, Uncategorized, volunteer, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

