Mother’s Day blog: Joy Majekodunmi

To celebrate Mother’s Day (18th March 2012), we are delighted to present a daily series of ‘Because I am a Girl’ blogs written by the wonderful mothers of Plan Ireland staff, we hope you enjoy this week’s special edition of the blog!

With an Irish mother and a Nigerian father, Joy Majekodunmi, grew up between Ireland, Nigeria and England. This varied upbringing left Joy with a love of Dublin theatre, spicy jollof rice and Moorcroft pottery. Now, Joy lives in Stoke-on-Trent and works as a GP. She is the proud mother of five children – sons Colm and Kieran who died young, and daughters Ciara (11¾), Serena (13½) and Jessica (30¼) who is Plan Ireland’s Marketing Manager. 

Because I am a Girl I ask…why there is so much injustice in the world.

Because I am a Girl I believe…whatever people tell me.

Because I am a Girl I hope…my daughters enjoy life and make a positive contribution to society.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…if I’ll be following my original dream of working in a developing country in five years.

Because I am a Girl I dream…but never remember.

Because I am a Girl I remember…my mother. Her strength in adversity, love and encouragement has inspired my life.

Because I am a Girl I like…eating Ben and Jerry’s phish food ice cream.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…meanness.

Because I am a Girl I feel…blessed to have had the opportunities to succeed in my chosen career and be a wife and mother.

Because I am a Girl I celebrate…the short lives of my twin sons Colm and Kieran. Every life is unique and precious.

– Joy Majekodunmi

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother’s Day blog: Joy Majekodunmi

  1. Pauleen Didgiunaitis says:

    Excellent,but that’s no more than I would expect from my cousin Joy.Joy is one of the worlds truly good people.Joys interior goodness shines externally like a beacon.I am proud to say she is my cousin

Leave a Reply

