Mother’s Day blog: Ann Magee

Ann Magee lives in Celbridge, Co. Kildare with her husband John. They have six children, four girls: Fiona, Aine (who works with Plan as Monitoring & Evaluation Officer, hence this blog, thanks Aine!) Sinead, Aoife and two boys, Sean and Brian.

They are also the proud grandparents of Conor, twin girls Ciara and Doireann, and Gael who lives in Mexico. They also sponsor a girl, Agnes in Ghana.

Ann is a full time home manager since 1976 when she had to quit her job in Dublin Corporation because she got married. She was busy being a full time mum and taxi service but luckily enjoyed cooking and home making.

Other hobbies include gardening, yoga, tennis and watching television. She is a tutor with Failte Isteach and teaches English to foreign nationals on a voluntary basis. She also enjoys a game of bridge. 

Because I am a Girl I ask…not what anyone can do for me but what I can do my self!

Because I am a Girl I believe…that I am blessed with my wonderful husband and family.

Because I am a Girl I hope…that I have passed on the Faith to my children and the belief in God that She will watch over them!

Because I am a Girl I wonder…how the years fly by so fast.

Because I am a Girl I dream…it is very important to dream, because “if you don’t have a dream how you gonna have a dream come true”

Because I am a Girl I remember…growing up in rural Ireland 50 years ago and happy to do the girls’ jobs: cleaning, cooking and caring, (still doing the same!) as that’s the way it was. However in the all girls secondary school I attended, honours maths was not an option, as it was perceived that girls wouldn’t be able to do the higher maths! Some things have improved a lot.

Because I am a Girl I like…nothing better than cooking dinner for a family reunion and having my wonderful extended family sitting round the table and a couple of bottles of wine!

Because I am a Girl I dislike…injustice and discrimination. The fact that girls are three times more likely to suffer malnutrition because the family feed the boys first. Everyone regardless of gender or geography should get equal opportunities and respect. I also abhor cruelty to animals.

Because I am a Girl I feel…happy that my daughters and sons have had equal opportunities in their upbringing.

Because I am a Girl I celebrate…every occasion, birthdays, weddings, christenings, anniversaries, Christmas, graduations holidays etc with gusto!

Ann Magee

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

