Fionnuala Britton, Olympic athlete

Fionnuala Britton is a distance runner from Wicklow and hopes to become a double Olympian this summer in London. Fionnuala is currently training at altitude in Albuquerque New Mexico, enjoying the hard training and the good weather but missing her family who are the most important people in Fionnuala’s life. 

Fionnuala studied Sports Science and Health in DCU and has a Research Masters in Physiology.  When she is finished competing internationally, Fionnuala hopes to be able to use her qualifications, share her experiences and be a positive role model for girls in sport. 

Fionnuala recently joined forces with Plan Ireland to call on the women of Ireland to run or walk for ‘Because I am a Girl’ in the upcoming Women’s Mini Marathon.

Because I am a Girl I ask…why?…because i like to answer questions with questions!

Because I am a Girl I believe…that “the best thing to do with advice is pass it on, we rarely use it on ourselves anyway.”

Because I am a Girl I hope…that my family and friends know how much I love and appreciate them!

Because I am a Girl I wonder…“why is it you have to know so much before you realise how little you know.”

Because I am a Girl I dream…of the impossible…and then ask myself why not!?!

Because I am a Girl I remember…wanting to be seven so I could join Brownies and all the sports clubs in my area.

Because I am a Girl I like…being a part of a unique and complicated group of people.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…the lack of respect given to women’s sports, stereotypes and prunes!

Because I am a Girl I feel…confused a lot of the time.

Because I am a Girl I celebrate…having sisters to share everything with.

– Fionnuala Britton

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

