Deirdre Foley, Student and Beauty Blogger

Deirdre Foley is a 22-year-old beauty blogger at www.vivaadonis.com, francophile and student of Trinity College. She is from Clontarf in Dublin but Paris is her favourite city in the world. Her interests include history, Morrissey, and 80’s movies. Deirdre collects lipstick and metro tickets from every city that she visits and hopes to work anywhere that her voice will be heard after college.

Because I am a Girl I ask…that women who define themselves by what men think of them stop, think and re-evaluate… I’ve been there and it’s no fun.

Because I am a Girl I believe…that Doctor Seuss came up with words for us self-conscious females to live by: ”Those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind”.

Because I am a Girl I hope…that the justice system both in Ireland and abroad improves how victims of rape and sexual assault are treated, and imposes more lengthy sentences on the perpetrators.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…why us women tend to stab each other in the back…I see so much girl-on-girl hatred every day, and it makes me so thankful to have an amazing best friend that I trust to the ends of the earth.

Because I am a Girl I dream…of going back in time to the 1950’s, donning a beautiful dress and pin-curled hair, and going out for an old-fashioned night of dinner and dancing!

Because I am a Girl I remember…everything that my Granny ever tells me, as she is the wisest person that  I know.

Because I am a Girl I like…nothing better than getting ready for a night out with my friends – I often take over two hours doing my hair and makeup while listening to Cyndi Lauper and old-school Madonna, and I enjoy every second of it.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…the casual sexism that exists among my generation… “get back into the kitchen'” jokes are not cool, and never will be.

Because I am a Girl I feel…extremely proud to know some incredible women that are selfless, intelligent and beautiful, namely my Mam and Granny.

Because I am a Girl I celebrate…my femininity at every opportunity, and make no excuses for smearing every glass, mug and teacup that I drink out of with my signature red lipstick!

– Deirdre Foley

This entry was posted in Beauty, Because I am a Girl, Charity, FAshion, girl's rights, Plan Ireland, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deirdre Foley, Student and Beauty Blogger

  1. Kathleen Nugent says:

    Your Nan is amazing!

Leave a Reply

