Hazel Larkin, writer & her daughters Ishthara and Kashmira

Hazel Katherine Larkin started working for children when she was 18 and was a full-time volunteer with the CARI Foundation, which was in its infancy at the time. Since then, she has campaigned for children’s rights, mental health rights and women’s rights both in Ireland and in Asia, where she lived for 10 years.  At the end of 2004, she and her two daughters returned to Ireland, where she was awarded a BA (Hons) in psychology in 2009. Currently studying for a Master’s in Sexuality Studies at DCU, Hazel’s passion for the rights of children – particularly girl children – has not waned and she is keen to continue doing all she can to improve the lot of girls everywhere.

Because I am a Girl I ask…that more be done to make the world a safe place for all our children
Because I am a Girl I believe…that ‘despite its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, the world is still a beautiful place’ (from the Desiderata by Max Ehrmann)
Because I am a Girl I hope…that more women will be welcomed to take their rightful places beside men in politics worldwide
Because I am a Girl I wonder…who I might have been if I had never been sexually abused
Because I am a Girl I dream…that female foeticide will become a thing of the past in my lifetime
Because I am a Girl I remember…the first time I held each of my babies in my arms
Because I am a Girl I like…the scent of jasmine flowers in the cooling night
Because I am a Girl I dislike…patriarchal systems of law, health, education and politics that don’t serve women
Because I am a Girl I feel…deeply
Because I am a Girl I celebrate…motherhood and give thanks for it every day.

Ishthara Larkin was born in India in 2002. Since then, she has lived in three other countries but visits India regularly with her mum and sister, Kashmira. Ishthara loves being a girl. She feels very lucky that she is not homeless and is getting a great education. Ishthara would like to be an actress and would like to continue to highlight issues that affect girls throughout the world.

Because I am a Girl I ask…for all children to be treated with kindness and understanding
Because I am a Girl I believe…in myself
Because I am a Girl I hope…that I’ll look good at a special event
Because I am a Girl I wonder…do I have a chance of having a ‘happy ever after’? Because I am a Girl I dream…that I will do something big for the world
Because I am a Girl I remember…the first time I made the dinner
Because I am a Girl I like…dancing
Because I am a Girl I dislike…fighting
Because I am a Girl I feel …precious
Because I am a Girl I celebrate…The International Day of the Girl Child

(Ishthara,  aged 10)

Kashmira Larkin was born in Singapore in 2004. Since then, she has lived in, and visited, many other countries. Everywhere she goes, she is aware of how much luckier than other girls she is. It makes Kashmira sad when she sees other children suffering. She knows she is lucky to be loved and to live safely. She would like all girls in the world to have a chance to have enough food, clean water and a house as well as an education. She would love for no girl ever to be forced to marry. Kashmira would like to be a zoologist when she is older.

Because I am a Girl I ask…of myself that I be the best I can be
Because I am a Girl I believe…in magic
Because I am a Girl I hope…to be a zoologist
Because I am a Girl I wonder…who decided that only boys could have ‘cool’ toys
Because I am a Girl I dream…of having a great education
Because I am a Girl I remember…being frustrated because all the girls’ clothes in the shops are pink!!!
Because I am a Girl I like…animals
Because I am a Girl I dislike…knotty hair
Because I am a Girl I feel…pretty
Because I am a Girl I celebrate…The International Day of the Girl Child

(Kashmira, aged 7)

This entry was posted in Because I am a Girl, Charity, girl's rights, Irish Media, Irish writers, Plan Ireland, Uncategorized, Womens Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

