Margaret Mansfield, teacher and mum to Mike, Plan’s Head of Sponsorship

Mike Mansfield, Margaret’s youngest child

Margaret Mansfield, mother of Mike, our Head of Marketing and Sponsorship, describes herself as a feminist. Born in Portumna, Co. Galway, and married to Gerry with three children, Petra, Morgan, “baby” Mike, Margaret is acutely aware of the importance of education. Instrumental in the creation of the transition year programme for secondary schools in the late seventies, today, Margaret, runs a French grind school from home, where she aims to bring 29 Leaving Cert students from ‘bonjour’ to ‘comment allez vous?”.

Because I am a Girl I ask…questions that have no answers.

Because I am a Girl I believe…the resourcefulness of women has yet to be fully understood.

Because I am a Girl I hope…in the very near future, women will take a more active role in world decisions.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…if we haven’t left it too late.

Because I am a Girl I dream…of visiting my sponsored boy and his family in Burkina Faso.

Because I am a Girl I remember…my mother’s words to me – “guys like you don’t come in pairs”.

Because I am a Girl I like…washing the kitchen floor, writing the shopping list and the hearing the key in the door.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…people who make jokes at other people’s expense.

Because I am a Girl I feel…insanely excited when I look deeply into a flower.

Because I am a Girl I celebrate…the sustaining support of my women friends.

– Margaret Mansfield

This entry was posted in Because I am a Girl, Charity, Feminist, girl's rights, Plan Ireland, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

