Diana Bunici, children’s TV presenter

Diana Bunici

Diana Bunici can be found in the elev8 loft, weekdays on RTÉ Two along with her co-presenters Sean Regan and Ivan Minnock. Presenting the daily live children’s programme is her first venture into television, having graduated from DIT with a BA in Journalism with French in 2010.

Born in Moldova, Diana moved to Ireland with her family when she was 8 years old and has lived here since. She has interviewed the likes of Justin Bieber, Pierce Brosnan, Kim Cattrall, Robert Pattinson, JLS, The Wanted, Mary Byrne and Jedward, created an elev8 Eurovision music video, sheared sheep and played air guitar in the national championships- all in the name of television!

Diana is highly involved in promoting diversity and interculturalism in Ireland having worked alongside the Irish Traveller Movement and their Yellow Flag programme which is all about celebrating interculturalism, equality and diversity in schools. Similarly, Diana is a supporter of  the Show Racism the Red Card campaign, very much enjoying her role as judge in their creative competition earlier this year. Last February Diana was announced as Outreach Moldova’s first ambassador and she has since been working closely with the Irish charity to raise awareness of their hard work in her native country.

Because I am a Girl I ask…questions. And lots of them. I’m a curious being and I love to learn about people and their lives. I believe every person has an interesting story to tell- lend your ears and you might be amazed by what you might hear!

Because I am a Girl I believe…that children are our future and that educating them from an early age can lead to a much brighter future for both Ireland and the world. A world without discrimination is what I dream of!

Because I am a Girl I hope…that the sound of laughter never fades. Nothing cheers me up more than seeing somebody truly happy or hearing the innocent giggles of a child!

Because I am a Girl I wonder…what the world will be like when I am my grandparents’ age. How much will have changed? What progress will we have seen? What will life have thrown my way and what technological and medical advances will we have achieved?

Because I am a Girl I dream…and dream and dream! I’m a big believer that whatever you wish for can and will come true if you want it bad enough. All it takes it bucket loads of determination, perseverance and confidence. Don’t be afraid to follow a dream, no matter how unattainable it may seem. Have a little faith and you’ll go a long way.

Because I am a Girl I remember…to thank God for all the beautiful, kind, supportive and inspirational people in my life.

Because I am a Girl I like…to daydream and reminisce and remember the times gone by. I’m a romantic soul and I love looking back and remembering the beautiful times I had with my family and grandparents in my native country.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…feeling inferior to boys. We are all equals and we can all work on the same level and to the same quality. There is no such thing as a superior sex. I never thought I’d ever quote the Spice Girls on anything but I feel really strongly about ”Girl Power!’

Because I am a Girl I feel…empowered. I believe in the sisterhood!

Because I am a Girl I celebrate…life and happiness and the fact that you can be the change in the world that you want to see. With just one little step, one tiny action, you’re already on the way to making a difference.

– Diana Bunici

This entry was posted in Because I am a Girl, Charity, Feminist, girl's rights, Irish Media, Media, Plan Ireland, TV, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

