Keelin Shanley, RTE journalist

Three time IFTA award winner, Keelin Shanley works as a journalist in RTE Television and Radio. She currently presents The Consumer Show.

Working with RTÉ’s flagship current affairs television programme, Prime Time, she has made a number of landmark documentaries including Sex Traffic, Cocaine and Saturday Night, Sunday Morning which showed the impact of Irish alcohol use over a 24 hour period.

She has also worked for Radio France International and for CNN World Report. She has covered stories in a number of developing countries including post earthquake Haiti, gang wars in Honduras and the use of child soldiers in Joseph Kony’s on-going war in Northern Uganda.

She has won a number of awards for her work including Science Journalist of the Year, Social and Campaigning journalist of the year, a Health Journalism award, a Law Society award and a Radharc award.

Because I am a Girl I ask…a lot of questions. And question a lot of answers.

Because I am a Girl I believe…that women should have more influence on how the country, and the world, is run.

Because I am a Girl I hope…to see an end to ancient practices such as genital mutilation and forced marriages that have such a profound effect on women’s lives from a very early age.

Because I am a Girl I wonder…will I ever be as good a mother as my mother was.

Because I am a Girl I dream…that some of the issues I have covered in my work – sex trafficking, juvenile crime, homelessness – will really be tackled.

Because I am a Girl I remember…what it’s like to be teenager – grappling with the contrasting feelings of always being right, and not actually having a clue.

Because I am a Girl I like…people who care about others, but also about themselves.

Because I am a Girl I dislike…the pressures put on young women today, in terms of their appearance, and their social roles, and wish they were better equipped to see what’s important.

Because I am a Girl I feel…proud to be associated with Plan Ireland and the great work that they do.

Because I am a Girl I celebrate…the life and good fortune that I have.

– Keelin Shanley

This entry was posted in Because I am a Girl, Charity, Feminist, girl's rights, Irish Media, Media, Plan Ireland, Politics, TV, Uncategorized, Womens Rights and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

