Shauna Conry, Student

Shauna comes from Firhouse in Dublin and has just completed her Leaving Cert at Sancta Maria College. At school, she took part in the ‘Schools Across Borders’ programme, which brings young people together from Ireland, Israel and Palestine, as well as organising the school talent show. Shauna spent three weeks of work experience with Plan Ireland where she worked on the Because I am a Girl campaign.

Because I am a Girl I ask …  not to be judged by my gender.   

Because I am a Girl I believe … girls should join together and help to eliminate gender inequality worldwide.       

Because I am a Girl I hope … to travel the world.

Because I am a Girl I wonder … what it is like to be a boy.

Because I am a Girl I dream … of meeting Justin Bieber. 

Because I am a Girl I remember … how important my friends and family are.  

Because I am a Girl I like … reality TV, my phone and boy-bands!

Because I am a Girl I dislike … hearing girls are not treated for who they are.

Because I am a Girl I feel … grateful for the experiences and opportunities I have had in life. 

Because I am a Girl I celebrate… Suistmas (Summer-Christmas) on the 25th of June every year.

This entry was posted in Because I am a Girl, Charity, girl's rights, Plan Ireland, Uncategorized, volunteer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

